Notice: Fall 2017 exams affected by natural disasters... More >

Expand/Collapse Close

ABIM knows that we have many physicians whose lives have been upended by recent natural disasters. If you live or work near an affected area, we understand that the weather may have impacted your ability to take your Fall 2017 exam as scheduled. We have developed a series of options to help you get through this process as smoothly as possible. If you have any questions, please call us at 1-800-441-ABIM (2246) or email

American Board of Internal Medicine home page

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

MOC Policy for Physicians Serving ABIM

Internists serving as ABIM Directors, Councilors or members of ABIM boards or committees:

  • Must hold valid certification in Internal Medicine or an Internal Medicine subspecialty throughout ABIM service.
  • Consistent with competency-based membership, valid certification must be held in the field of service where applicable.
  • Must be participating in MOC continuously throughout ABIM service.
  • Internists/subspecialists who have time-limited certification in the field of service must take and pass the ABIM secure exam every 10 years.
  • Internists/subspecialists who have valid-indefinitely certification in the field of service—and who have not passed an ABIM secure exam within 10 years prior to starting ABIM service—must take and pass the secure exam within the first three years of service (or within three years of the effective date of this policy, whichever is later).
  • Self-Assessment of Medical Knowledge (Part 2) MOC credit is granted annually for committee work on ABIM knowledge assessment products.
  • All other MOC requirements must be met.

Non-internist physicians serving ABIM must hold valid ABMS certification and meet the MOC requirements of their specialty board throughout ABIM service.

Effective: July 1, 2013