Bookmark and Share

ABIM Certification Guide

ABIM Certification demonstrates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, self-assessment and evaluation. Additionally, Certification encompasses the six general competencies established by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and sets the stage for continual professional development through values centered on lifelong learning. In order to be certified, a physician must:

  • Complete the requisite predoctoral medical education
  • Meet the training requirements
  • Meet the licensure requirements and procedural requirements
  • Pass an ABIM Certification examination

Information on becoming board certified with ABIM: