Notice: Fall 2017 exams affected by natural disasters... More >

Expand/Collapse Close

ABIM knows that we have many physicians whose lives have been upended by recent natural disasters. If you live or work near an affected area, we understand that the weather may have impacted your ability to take your Fall 2017 exam as scheduled. We have developed a series of options to help you get through this process as smoothly as possible. If you have any questions, please call us at 1-800-441-ABIM (2246) or email

American Board of Internal Medicine home page

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

CME Providers

ABIM and the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) have collaborated to simplify the integration of Maintenance of Certification (MOC) and accredited CME through the ABIM MOC Assessment Recognition Program. This collaboration expands the number and diversity of accredited CME activities that offer ABIM MOC points, and streamlines the process for registering CME activities for ABIM MOC recognition.

CME Providers can register accredited activities for:

  • Medical Knowledge MOC points;
  • Practice Assessment MOC points; and/or
  • Patient Safety MOC credit.

To Register a CME Activity for ABIM MOC Recognition