American Board of Internal Medicine home page

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Credit When Renewing State License

If you hold a medical license in one of the below states and are participating in Maintenance of Certification (MOC), you can indicate on your licensure renewal with those state medical boards that your MOC participation exempts you from reporting CME. Contact the state medical board for more details.

State of Idaho Board of Medicine

Minnesota Board of Medical Practice

North Carolina
North Carolina Medical Board

Oregon Medical Board

West Virginia
West Virginia Board of Medicine

Bookmark this page and don’t forget to check back often to see if your state has been added.