Notice: Fall 2017 exams affected by natural disasters... More >

Expand/Collapse Close

ABIM knows that we have many physicians whose lives have been upended by recent natural disasters. If you live or work near an affected area, we understand that the weather may have impacted your ability to take your Fall 2017 exam as scheduled. We have developed a series of options to help you get through this process as smoothly as possible. If you have any questions, please call us at 1-800-441-ABIM (2246) or email

American Board of Internal Medicine home page

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Earning MOC Points

The Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program requires that you earn some MOC points every two years to be reported as participating in MOC. To be reported as certified, you must earn 100 points every five years, 20 of which must be medical knowledge (the points you earn every two years count toward your 100 points) and pass the MOC exam in your specialty within 10 years of when you last passed it.

Practice Assessment, Patient Voice and Patient Safety are not required through 2018 but completing activities in these areas still earns you MOC points.

Medical Knowledge

Earn points by keeping your knowledge in your field up-to-date.

View Medical Knowledge options

Practice Assessment

Earn points for activities that aim to improve the quality of care in your practice.

View Practice Assessment options

Did You Know?

If you're a FELLOW...

You will earn 20 MOC points for eligible fellowship training.

When you take an MOC EXAM...

You earn 20 MOC points for your first MOC exam attempt in each certification area, in each 10-year period.


Your ABIM MOC point requirement may be waived.


The MOC points you earn count toward all your certifications.

Earning CME credits...

Certain ABIM Products will earn CME credits.