American Board of Internal Medicine home page

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Patient Safety

The Patient Safety option of the MOC program gives ABIM Board Certified physicians the opportunity to complete activities to advance national patient safety goals.

ABIM will recognize and reward Practice Assessment, Patient Voice and Patient Safety activities, and completing activities in these areas still earns you MOC points.

Activity Requirements

A Patient Safety activity must address at least one of the following topics:

  • Foundational knowledge (must include all of the following):
  • Epidemiology of error: should prepare physicians to discuss the key definitions that underpin current patient safety efforts
  • Fundamentals of patient safety improvement (plan, do, study, act or PDSA): should engage physicians in a PDSA cycle focused on patient safety
  • Culture of safety: should identify the specific elements (i.e., the beliefs, attitudes and values about work and risks) that contribute to safety culture
  • Prevention of adverse events (examples include, but are not limited to):
  • Medication safety (e.g., medication reconciliation, safe use of analgesics and sedatives, identification and remediation of polypharmacy in the elderly)
  • Prevention of healthcare-acquired infections
  • Falls prevention
  • Teamwork and care coordination

Getting activities recognized

Register a CME activity for Patient Safety MOC credit through the ABIM MOC Assessment Recognition Program.

Submit a quality improvement activity for Patient Safety MOC credit through the Approved Quality Improvement (AQI) Program.

View activities

View CME activities that earn Patient Safety MOC credit

View quality improvement activities that earn Patient Safety MOC credit