Notice: Fall 2017 exams affected by natural disasters... More >

Expand/Collapse Close

ABIM knows that we have many physicians whose lives have been upended by recent natural disasters. If you live or work near an affected area, we understand that the weather may have impacted your ability to take your Fall 2017 exam as scheduled. We have developed a series of options to help you get through this process as smoothly as possible. If you have any questions, please call us at 1-800-441-ABIM (2246) or email

American Board of Internal Medicine home page

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Practice Assessment

Focus. Measure. Change. Remeasure.

The Practice Assessment option for earning MOC points gives ABIM Board Certified physicians the opportunity to participate in activities that help to improve the quality of patient care in their practice. Quality Improvement (QI) activities should include identifying and quantifying an improvement opportunity in your practice, implementing a change to address that opportunity, and measuring the impact of your change.

ABIM has extended the decision to not require Practice Assessment in its MOC program through 12/31/2018 but completing activities in this area still earns you MOC points. See details.

Options for Practice Assessment:

Option One Are there CME activities that you are already doing?

ABIM recognizes thousands of CME activities that also offer MOC points.

Visit CME Finder to find a CME activity that earn MOC points

Learn more about CME that earns MOC

Option Two Are you looking for or have you recently been involved in a QI activity?

See links below for opportunities sponsored by organizations you belong to or that are in close proximity to you. Or, if you did an activity through an organization, you might be able to submit it through AQI or multi-specialty MOC opportunities.

View AQI activities

View multi-specialty MOC opportunities