American Board of Internal Medicine home page

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Section: MOC Requirements

Interventional Cardiology

Procedural Requirement

You must submit a Form Attesting Interventional Cardiology Practice, verifying your performance as primary operator, co-operator or supervisor of 100 therapeutic percutaneous interventional (PCI) cases during the two-year documentation period, which is consistent with the ACCF/AHA/SCAI 2013 Update of the Clinical Competence Statement on Coronary Artery Interventional Procedures. If you are unable to meet this requirement, the Cardiovascular Board decided to temporarily reinstate the Procedural Log which would allow you to attest to 25 consecutive PCI cases, including outcomes, completed as primary operator as a pathway to completing the MOC procedural attestation requirement.

Procedural Requirement Due Dates

In general, the Form Attesting Interventional Cardiology Practice is due every five years. The form becomes available on your MOC Status Report in January of the year that it is due. The documentation period begins July 1 two years prior to the attestation form becoming due.

  • If your certificate expires 2018 or earlier, your form is due by your certificate expiration date. It will be due again every five years thereafter.
  • If your certificate expires 2019 or later, your form is due by 12/31/18. It will be due again every five years thereafter.
  • If you earned your initial certificate 2013 or later, your form is due five years after initial certification. It will be due again every five years thereafter.