Bookmark and Share


The American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program requires regular (at least every two years) completion of approved MOC activities. Certificates are contingent upon participating in MOC.

ABIM routinely reports to the public and ABMS your certification status. Additionally, for all ABIM Board Certified physicians, ABIM reports whether physicians are participating in MOC.


To maintain certification in: You must hold current, valid certification in:
  • Adult Congenital Heart Disease

ABIM Cardiovascular Disease
ABP Pediatric Cardiology

  • Advanced Heart Failure & Transplant Cardiology
  • Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology
  • Interventional Cardiology
Cardiovascular Disease
  • Adolescent Medicine
  • Hospice and Palliative Medicine
  • Sleep Medicine
  • Sports Medicine
Internal Medicine or a subspecialty
  • Transplant Hepatology