American Board of Internal Medicine home page

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Clinical Supervision PIM


Physicians who supervise any of the below listed trainees in either an inpatient or outpatient setting:

  • Medical students
  • Residents
  • Fellows


Recommended Number to Complete:
  • 10* Observation Audit cycles
MOC Points:
  • 20
AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™:
  • 20**


*ABIM recommends that at least two trainees are observed and that multiple observations of the same trainee take place to see if any changes in clinical skills occurred.

**AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™ for successful completion of a PIM are only available to physicians who are enrolled and participating in the ABIM Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. Physicians participating in other Boards' MOC programs are not eligible for CME credit.