American Board of Internal Medicine home page

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Approved Quality Improvement Program

The ABIM Approved Quality Improvement (AQI) Program is the process through which ABIM recognizes externally developed quality improvement and safety activities that physicians are doing in practice. ABIM welcomes proposals from sponsors that may include medical specialty societies, hospitals or departments within hospitals, medical groups, clinics or other health-related organizations that wish to approve a single activity (larger health care organizations seeking to pursue QI activities across disciplines may wish to pursue the ABMS Multi-Specialty Portfolio Approval Program™).

Proposed activities should fit into one or more of the National Academy of Medicine's (formerly the Institute of Medicine) quality dimensions or one or more of the three Aims or six Priorities articulated in the National Quality Strategy. As part of a process to evolve the AQI program to accept a wider variety of activities for MOC, sponsors will have the opportunity to co-create with ABIM the definition of meaningful engagement in quality improvement activities.

To Submit an Activity for Approval:

Approval for activities offering AMA PRA Category 1 Credits

ABIM recently announced an expansion of its collaboration with ACCME to recognize CME activities for Practice Assessment MOC credit.

Accredited providers should no longer submit an AQI application directly to ABIM. Instead, beginning in Spring 2017, they should use ACCME's Program and Activity Reporting System (PARS) to register and report participant completion data for Performance Improvement CME (PI CME) activities and other CME activities that meet ABIM's AQI guidelines.

Please contact with questions.

Approval for all other activities

Application Deadlines:

AQI Applications are peer-reviewed by one or more members of the relevant ABIM Specialty Board. Upcoming application submission deadlines are as follows:

Specialty Board Spring 2017

Application Deadlines
Fall 2017

Application Deadlines
Cardiovascular Board Jan. 13, 2017 Jul. 17, 2017
Critical Care Medicine Board Mar. 17, 2017 Sept. 8, 2017
Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Board Jan. 27, 2017 Aug. 3, 2017
Gastroenterology Board Mar. 20, 2017 Sept. 21, 2017
Geriatric Medicine Board Feb. 7, 2017 Sept. 14, 2017
Hematology Board Mar. 21, 2017 Aug. 18, 2017
Infectious Disease Board Mar. 2, 2017 Aug. 25, 2017
Internal Medicine Board Mar. 24, 2017 Aug. 7, 2017
Medical Oncology Board Mar. 27, 2017 Sept. 18, 2017
Nephrology Board Mar. 3, 2017 Sept. 1, 2017
Pulmonary Disease Board Mar. 16, 2017 Sept. 15, 2017
Rheumatology Board Jan. 6, 2017 Jul. 21, 2017