Bookmark and Share


In preparation for the ACGME Next Accreditation System (NAS), specialty groups have developed outcomes-based milestones (pdf) for resident performance within the six domains of clinical competence. The milestones are competency-based developmental outcome expectations that can be demonstrated progressively by residents and fellows from the beginning of their education through graduation to the unsupervised practice of their specialty. The Internal Medicine Milestones Working Group was co-convened by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM), and was composed of ABIM staff, program director association members, specialty society members, ACGME Review Committee members, and others. Residents' performance on milestones will become a source of specialty-specific normative data for the specialty Review Committees to use in assessing the quality of residency programs and facilitating improvements to program curriculum and resident performance if and when needed. The milestones will also be used by the ACGME to demonstrate accountability of the effectiveness of graduate medical education within ACGME-accredited programs in meeting the needs of the public.

The members of the Internal Medicine Education Redesign Advisory Board, with representation from the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine, ABIM, the ACGME, the American College of Physicians, the American Medical Association, the Association of Specialty Professors, the Society of General Internal Medicine, and the Society of Hospital Medicine, have endorsed the Internal Medicine Milestones (pdf) for use in the ACGME NAS.

Internal Medicine Milestones Group

Chair: William Iobst, MD
Eva Aagaard, MD
Hasan Bazari, MD
Timothy Brigham, MDiv, PhD
Roger W. Bush, MD
Kelly Caverzagie, MD
Davoren Chick, MD
Michael Green, MD
Kevin Hinchey, MD
Eric Holmboe, MD
Sarah Hood, MS
Gregory Kane, MD
Lynne Kirk, MD
Lauren Meade, MD
Cynthia Smith, MD
Susan Swing, PhD