Meeting MOC Requirements

  • Possess a valid medical license
  • Earn MOC points (points count toward all certificates you are maintaining)
  • Some MOC activity every two years
  • 100 MOC points every five years
  • Patient Voice and Patient Safety
  • Pass MOC exam in your specialty every 10 years

Find a PIM

Use our Practice Assessment Selector Tool.

MOC Advice

Get advice from fellow physicians on the MOC process.


Learn what Meeting Requirements means and why MOC changed.



Bookmark and Share

Hospice & Palliative Medicine

The links below outline the details of the Certification and Maintenance of Certification (MOC) programs in Hospice & Palliative Medicine. Products listed below are recommended for this specialty but you may earn points in other ways. The points you earn apply to all certifications you are maintaining.


At the time of application for certification in Hospice & Palliative Medicine, you must hold current, valid ABIM certification in Internal Medicine or a subspecialty.

Guide to Certification in Hospice & Palliative Medicine (pdf)

Maintenance of Certification

You must hold current, valid ABIM certification in Internal Medicine or an ABIM subspecialty to maintain certification in Hospice & Palliative Medicine.

You can begin earning points as soon as you enroll in MOC:

Self-Evaluation of Medical Knowledge

Recommended modules:

Learning Sessions are an interesting and collaborative way to earn points.

Self-Evaluation of Practice Assessment

Recommended ABIM PIMs Practice Improvement Modules®:

View the PIM tutorial

Need help choosing a PIM? Use our Practice Assessment Selector Tool.