Meeting MOC Requirements

  • Possess a valid medical license
  • Earn MOC points (points count toward all certificates you are maintaining)
  • Some MOC activity every two years
  • 100 MOC points every five years
  • Patient Voice and Patient Safety
  • Pass MOC exam in your specialty every 10 years

Find a PIM

Use our Practice Assessment Selector Tool.

MOC Advice

Get advice from fellow physicians on the MOC process.


Learn what Meeting Requirements means and why MOC changed.



Bookmark and Share

Interventional Cardiology

The links below outline the details of the Certification and Maintenance of Certification (MOC) programs in Interventional Cardiology. Products listed below are recommended for this specialty but you may earn points in other ways. The points you earn apply to all certifications you are maintaining.


At the time of application for certification in Interventional Cardiology, you must hold current, valid ABIM certification in Cardiovascular Disease.

Maintenance of Certification

You must hold current, valid ABIM certification in Cardiovascular Disease to maintain certification in Interventional Cardiology.

Procedural Requirement

Interventional cardiologists must submit a Form Attesting Interventional Cardiology Practice, verifying their performance as primary operator, co-operator or supervisor of 150 percutaneous coronary interventional (PCI) cases in the two years prior to expiration of their certificate. If interventional cardiologists are unable to meet this requirement, they may provide a procedural log of 25 consecutive cases, including outcomes, in which they have served as primary operator.

  • The documentation period for certificates expiring December 31, 2013 may start no earlier than July 1, 2011 and end no later than October 1, 2013.
  • The form also requires verification of participation in a PCI quality improvement project.
  • If you fulfill the 150 PCI-case procedural requirement for recertification in Interventional Cardiology prior to the close of the documentation period, you do not need to wait to submit your attestation form. ABIM recommends that you submit your attestation form once you fulfill the 150 PCI-case procedural requirement, rather than wait to document all procedures performed during the two-year documentation period.

You can begin earning points as soon as you enroll in MOC:

Self-Evaluation of Medical Knowledge

Recommended modules:

Learning Sessions are an interesting and collaborative way to earn points.

* Research shows simulations are a successful tool in the assessment of physician performance.

Self-Evaluation of Practice Assessment

Recommended ABIM PIMs Practice Improvement Modules®:

View the PIM tutorial

Additionally, diplomates can earn 20 points of Self-Evaluation of Practice Assessment credit for many third-party products or institutional programs through ABIM's Approved Quality Improvement (AQI) pathway and/or the Multi-Specialty Portfolio Program.

Recommended Web-based AQI products for Interventional Cardiology:

Use our Practice Assessment Selector Tool to find other institutional projects or programs approved through the AQI Pathway that may apply to you based on your professional affiliation or location.

If you participated in a quality improvement effort at an Approved Portfolio Sponsor organization, you may be eligible to earn MOC points through the Multi-Specialty Portfolio Program.