Meeting MOC Requirements

  • Possess a valid medical license
  • Earn MOC points (points count toward all certificates you are maintaining)
  • Some MOC activity every two years
  • 100 MOC points every five years
  • Patient Voice and Patient Safety
  • Pass MOC exam in your specialty every 10 years

Find a PIM

Use our Practice Assessment Selector Tool.

MOC Advice

Get advice from fellow physicians on the MOC process.


Learn what Meeting Requirements means and why MOC changed.



Bookmark and Share

Transplant Hepatology

The links below outline the details of the Certification and Maintenance of Certification (MOC) programs in Transplant Hepatology. Products listed below are recommended for this specialty but you may earn points in other ways. The points you earn apply to all certifications you are maintaining.


At the time of application for certification in Transplant Hepatology, you must hold current, valid ABIM certification in Gastroenterology.

Guide to Certification in Transplant Hepatology (pdf)

Maintenance of Certification

You must hold current, valid ABIM certification in Gastroenterology or an ABIM subspecialty to maintain certification in Transplant Hepatology.

You can begin earning points as soon as you enroll in MOC:

Self-Evaluation of Medical Knowledge

Recommended modules:

Learning Sessions are an interesting and collaborative way to earn points.

Self-Evaluation of Practice Assessment

Recommended ABIM PIMs Practice Improvement Modules®:

View the PIM tutorial

Need help choosing a PIM? Use our Practice Assessment Selector Tool.

Additionally, diplomates can earn 20 points of Self-Evaluation of Practice Assessment credit for many third-party products or institutional programs through ABIM's Approved Quality Improvement (AQI) pathway and/or the Multi-Specialty Portfolio Program.