Jump to start of content


Scharles Konadu, MD  |  Gastroenterologist
Member, ABIM Gastroenterology Board


Maintain board certification at a speed that works for you.

ABIM’s Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment (LKA™) for Maintenance of Certification (MOC) – launching in 2022 – is designed with physicians' personal and professional needs in mind: greater flexibility, more convenience, and faster feedback.

What you can expect

The LKA is a 5-year cycle during which you answer questions on an ongoing basis and receive regular feedback on how you're performing.

The LKA 5-Year Cycle

Questions Receive Quarterly

ABIM will release 30 questions each quarter. Answer at your own pace and skip up to 100 questions anytime over 5 years.

Answer questions any place and time and access any resource (except another person).

Feedback Receive Periodically

Ongoing feedback including references and rationales.

Updated score report on a quarterly basis after first year to help identify areas for future study.

Results At end of cycle

Final pass/fail decision made at the end of your 5-year cycle.

Continue with the LKA or take the traditional, 10-year MOC exam to stay certified.

Understanding Your Assessment Timeline

ABIM offers multiple ways to maintain your certification. This tool provides assessment options by speciality. To find your specific due dates, sign in to your Physician Portal.

Active Year
*Retiring 12/31/21  

Freedom, Flexibility, and Immediacy

Medicine changes quickly. By participating in the LKA you can take questions on an ongoing basis and get immediate feedback to help keep your medical knowledge current.

With the LKA you will be able to:

Answer questions any place, anytime, on almost any internet connected device

Access any resources used in practice (except for another person)

Receive immediate feedback with rationales and references for the correct and incorrect answers

The Latest Updates

See All
  • ABIM Quarterly News & Notes | Spring 2021
    April 06, 2021  |  In this issue: A Message from Richard Baron, ABIM President and CEO Introducing the Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment FAQ on MOC extension Meet ABIM’s Exam Experience Team Research…
  • ABIM to Extend All MOC Requirement Deadlines Through 2022
    March 08, 2021  |  In this post: Letter to all ABIM Diplomates  Details of the MOC deadline extension Questions you may have, answered Dear ABIM Diplomates,  ABIM’s Board of Directors is a… The…
  • Summary Report: Fall 2020 Gastroenterology Board Meeting
    February 18, 2021  |  December 2020 Meeting The December meeting of the Gastroenterology (GI) Board came at an extremely important time for ABIM and its diplomates. The ongoing fight against the COVID-1…

Share your Feedback and Get Involved

There are always opportunities to get involved and share your feedback so we can make MOC better for you - both now and long term.