American Board of Internal Medicine home page

Initial Certification indicates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, accredited training and evaluation and that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care.

MOC is a professionally determined standard that attests that an internist is staying current in knowledge and practice throughout his/her career.

For more than 75 years, Certification by ABIM has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties.

Internal Medicine-Cardiology Pilot Program

The ABIM Competency-Based Pilot in Internal Medicine/Cardiology training, led by the American College of Cardiology (ACC), is a pilot educational innovation consisting of a “blended” third year of internal medicine (IM) training administered to IM residents already accepted to cardiovascular disease (CVD) fellowship at the four Academic Medical Centers listed on the bottom of this page.

During the blended year, components of CVD training will be incorporated to the curriculum, while the training remains under the control of IM. These selected experiences—jointly designed by IM and CVD program directors at the pilot sites—will lead to and contribute to competencies and credits required for both IM and CVD training during this third year. Trainees in the pilot program will sit for the ABIM IM certification exam at the end of their third year of training.

Program Goals:

  • To assess a competency-based (CB) curriculum for CVD training
  • To pilot—in conjunction with IM—aspects of a curriculum aimed at an earlier career focus for CVD education through new and unique competency-based rotations. It is not the intent of this pilot to create a different type of cardiologist; rather, the intent is to examine the pathway by which one becomes a competent cardiologist.

Current Participants:

Each pilot site is led by both the IM and CVD training program directors, with additional oversight being provided by a competency or promotions committee comprising the training program directors and two faculty members each from IM and CVD to review assessment data and provide attestation of trainee competence.

The four institutions currently participating in the pilot program are:

  • Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Indiana University School of Medicine
  • University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
  • Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

The pilot began in July 2014 and four pilot residents successfully completed their training at the end of June 2015 and started their CVD fellowship training in July 2015. The second year of the pilot started in July 2015 at the four participating institutions. The total duration of IM and CVD fellowship is six years for the pilot trainees.

For Additional Information:

If you would like more information about this pilot program, contact Dr. C.A. Sivaram at or Robyn Snyder, ACC Director of Education Design, at