Jump to start of content

Breadcrumb trail:

MOC Requirements


In general, in addition to licensure prerequisites, these are the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program requirements.

To see due dates for your specific requirements sign in to your Physician Portal.

Complete an Activity

To be reported as participating in MOC:
Every 2 years complete at least one MOC activity.
Points earned will count toward your 100 MOC points requirement.

Earn 100 Points

To stay certified:
Every 5 years earn 100 MOC points
20 of which must be Medical Knowledge.

Pass an Assessment

To stay certified:
Pass the MOC Exam
within 10 years of when you last passed.
Take the Knowledge Check-In
every 2 years and remain on a successful path.

Important Notes and Exceptions

  • Find out if you are eligible to take the Knowledge Check-In. More
  • For Hospitalists, additional MOC requirements apply. More
  • For Interventional Cardiologists, additional MOC requirements apply. More
  • For Dual-Boarded Diplomates, some MOC requirements may be waived. More
  • For those newly certified in Internal Medicine, you are eligible for an MOC fee credit. More
  • For fellows in an accredited training program, you may be eligible for an MOC fee credit and 20 MOC points. More