Jump to start of content

Breadcrumb trail:

Assessment Options

Assessment Options: Choice, Relevance, Convenience

ABIM has been a leader in creating rigorous medical assessments for licensed physicians since it was established in 1936. 

Please see an important update about MOC requirement deadline extensions in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Learn more about all your options to meet your MOC assessment requirement:

Traditional, 10-Year MOC Exam

Available in all specialties

Taken every 10 years

Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment (LKA®)

ABIM’s LKA for MOC is available in most specialties in 2023

Collaborative Maintenance Pathway (CMP)

Assessments created in collaboration with the American College of Cardiology

Available in cardiovascular disease and related subspecialties

Taken on various timetables

2-Year Knowledge Check-In (KCI) 

The KCI is no longer offered