Jump to start of content

COVID-19 Updates Expand/Collapse the ABIM alert.

ABIM is actively monitoring news around COVID-19 and will post regular updates about any changes to scheduled assessments or other impacts to MOC related activities.
Scheduled for an assessment this year? ABIM is working with Pearson VUE to ensure your safety throughout your exam day. Learn more about what to expect at test centers.
Please follow the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for the most up-to-date information on the virus.

Complete requirements by 12/31/2022 to avoid a change in certification status Expand/Collapse the ABIM alert.

After an extension due to the COVID-19 pandemic, MOC requirement deadlines are resuming this year. This means you may have one or more MOC requirements due by 12/31/2022. If you do, your personalized Physician Portal will display red and yellow indicators next to the requirement(s) that need your attention. Be sure to complete any outstanding requirements before the end of year to avoid a change in your certification status.

Breadcrumb trail:

MOC What to Expect

About ABIM’s MOC Program

ABIM’s MOC program requires that you:

Earn points every 2 years by completing an activity (of any point value) to be reported as participating in MOC. Points earned will count toward your 100 MOC point requirement.

Earn 100 MOC points every 5 years to stay certified.

Pass an MOC assessment in 10 years, which can be the traditional, 10-year MOC exam, the Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment, or a Collaborative Maintenance Pathway assessment (available in cardiovascular disease and cardiology subspecialties).

MOC Comes in Many Forms.

You may be surprised to find some of your activities can be counted toward MOC and CME. There are many ways you can get credit for MOC for the work you’re already doing – for example, earning a subspecialty certification earns you 100 MOC points, enough to satisfy your 5-year requirement. You’ll also receive 20 MOC points for each year of fellowship you successfully complete. Additionally, some educational activities count for both CME and MOC.

You're a Part of Something Big!

ABIM supports more than 200,000 board certified physicians through: