Jump to start of content

ABIM's call center wait times may be longer than usual Expand/Collapse the ABIM alert.

Due to high volume, ABIM call center wait times may be longer than usual. You may also contact us via email at request@abim.org. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Breadcrumb trail:

Hospice & Palliative Medicine Maintenance of Certification Assessments

Beginning in 2022, physicians from a qualifying board who currently hold the Hospice and Palliative Medicine (HPM) Certificate of Added Qualification (CAQ) will maintain their certification through the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM). Diplomates will no longer maintain their HPM certificate through their original board.

Expand All | Collapse All

Why is this change happening?

Maintaining HPM certification through ABIM will enhance the HPM MOC process for diplomates and assist them in maintaining a high level of knowledge, judgment, and skills in HPM. The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) approved the American Board of Gynecology (ABOG), American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (ABPMR), American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN), American Board of Radiology (ABR), and the American Board of Surgery (ABS) to move from  co-sponsoring boards to qualifying boards in HPM. This means that all HPM CAQ continuing certification standards and activities will move from these boards to ABIM.

When does this change go into effect?

ABIM will be the certifying board for all HPM diplomates from the approved qualifying boards starting January 2022.

How will I transition to ABIM for HPM certification?

Diplomates with an HPM certification will be able to register with ABIM via ABIM’s physician portal. ABIM will email instructions to all diplomates from the qualifying boards noted with a current HPM certification regarding portal registration. After registering in the Physician Portal, diplomates will be able to select the option of either maintaining HPM certification or allowing it to expire.

Do I need to complete my original board's MOC program requirements for 2021 to retain my HPM certificate by 12/31/21?

Yes, diplomates with an HPM certification must complete their original board's Maintenance of Certification (MOC) requirements for 2021 to maintain their HPM certification.

Will I still be certified with my original board?

Diplomates can continue to maintain their underlying certification or other subspecialty certification(s) as long as they continue to participate and meet all requirements of their MOC program. It is the diplomate’s choice whether to maintain their certifications or allow them to expire.

Will I need to do MOC for both boards if I also choose to maintain a certification with my original board?

Yes. To maintain the original board's certification, diplomates will be required to continue to participate in its MOC program and complete all MOC requirements. ABIM does have a reciprocity policy to help streamline MOC requirements. ABIM diplomates who are dual boarded by one or more of the other ABMS Member Boards can have the MOC points requirement waived.

Diplomates who are eligible to receive this reciprocal credit will see a feature box at the bottom of the ABIM Physician Portal. They can click on the feature to attest to being currently certified by and participating in the other Board's MOC program.

Diplomates still need to meet other ABIM MOC requirements: maintaining a valid, unrestricted, and unchallenged medical license, passing a secure ABIM MOC assessment, including the new Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment, and meeting any other ABIM-specific subspecialty procedural requirements.

ABIM will email all pertinent details to diplomates who want to maintain their HPM certificate. Diplomates should check their email inbox regularly to stay informed by ABIM. Learn more about ABIM’s MOC program. Diplomates may also email request@abim.org or call 1-800-441-ABIM for information.

What is the Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment (LKA) and when can I take it?

In 2022, ABIM is launching a new assessment option for MOC call the LKA™. The LKA is a 5-year cycle during which you answer questions on an ongoing basis and receive regular feedback on how you're performing. As long as you’re meeting the LKA Participation Requirement and any other MOC requirements, you’ll continue to be publicly reported as Certified for your entire 5-year LKA cycle.

To learn more about the LKA visit our new microsite.

How much will it cost to maintain my HPM certification with ABIM?

Newly transitioned HPM diplomates will become ABIM diplomates and will follow ABIM’s fee schedule.  (A) Starting January 1, 2022, the annual ABIM MOC fee for the first certificate a physician is maintaining will be $220 and the LKA is included at no additional cost. Each additional certificate will be $120 annually and (B) The traditional, 10-year MOC exam fee will be $700. Learn more about ABIM’s 2022 fee structure.

Who can I contact at ABIM if I have additional questions or need assistance with HPM enrollment, fees, or other HPM-related matters?

Email request@abim.org or call 1-800-441-ABIM.